Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sun, Aug 28 2016 4:00 PM

The Complete Music for Solo Piano by Schoenberg
Thomas Schultz, piano


$18.00 General (includes advance online discount)
$15.00 Seniors (65+, includes advance online discount)
$5.00 Full Time Students
(Children 12 and under are free)

Arnold Schoenberg Three Piano Pieces, Op. 11; Six Little Piano Pieces, Op. 19; Five Piano Pieces, Op. 23; Suite, Op. 25; Piano Pieces, Op. 33a/b
Johannes Brahms Three Intermezzi, Op. 117
Franz Liszt Nuages gris; Vergessene Romanze; and Les jeux d'eaux à la Villa d'Este

This concert is a rare opportunity to hear Schoenberg's piano music in its entirety, along with late works by Liszt that foreshadow Schoenberg's atonality and music by Brahms that Schoenberg often cited as antecedents for his own music. These five groups of pieces reflect the development of Schoenberg's music from his early work in free atonality, through the development of the 12-tone system and on to his mature music.

Cost: $5 - $20