Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Tue, Dec 12 2017 8:00 PM

Hertz Hall
UC Berkeley campus near corner of College and Bancroft Berkeley
Click for Venue page

A new music ensemble for the 21st Century, the [Switch~ Ensemble] performs a concert of solo and chamber ensemble works with electronics in partnership with Berkeley's CNMAT at Hertz Hall. The program features pieces by established and emerging composers, including Fausto Romitelli’s “Domeniche alla periferia dell’impero” for amplified quartet, Tonia Ko’s “Tribute | Axis II” for violin and piano, Sivan Eldar's "Tarr" and Victor Ibarra's "Química del agua", both for pierrot quintet, Max Murray's "Ad Marginem des Versuchs" for solo clarinet and electronics, and Josh Levine's "Sixty cycles" for solo cello.

Founded in 2012 at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, NY the [Switch~ Ensemble] was conceived as a flexible-size professional ensemble looking toward the future of contemporary music. [Switch~ Ensemble] specializes in high-level chamber music integrated with cutting-edge technology and multimedia, and supports emerging and early career composers to create bold new works featuring multimedia and electroacoustic elements. At the core of each performance is the ensemble’s commitment of total integration between technology and live performance — their goal is compelling artistry achieved through seamless production, creation, and execution. For more information:

Cost: $10/$5 students