Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Nov 19 2016 8:00 PM

The Mills College Music Department and the Center for Contemporary Music present Mills Music Now 2016-2017

(Jean Macduff Vaux Composer-in-Residence)

The Alvin Curran Fake Book
A concert of music by visiting composer Alvin Curran. Curran performs solo piano music and is joined by the Mills Contemporary Performance Ensemble.

Saturday, November 19, 2016 8:00pm
Littlefield Concert Hall


Please like and share our Facebook event:

For detailed information, please visit the Music Now webpage:

$15 general/$10 seniors, non-Mills students
Tickets may be purchased at the door, or online at:

Wheelchair accessible
Free parking on campus

Mills College
Music Department
5000 MacArthur Blvd
Oakland, CA 94613


American composer Alvin Curran co-founded the group Musica Elettronica Viva and has been active with solo performances, international radio concerts and large-scale sound installations since the 1960s. Born in Providence, Rhode Island, Curran studied composition under Ron Nelson at Brown University, and afterward with Elliott Carter at Yale. After completing his studies -- which also included piano and trombone -- in 1963, Curran went with Carter to Berlin, where he remained for a year before moving to Rome. In 1966, Curran co-founded the free music collective Musica Elettronica Viva with Richard Teitelbaum and Frederic Rzewski. In the '70s, Curran focused on solo performances that utilized keyboards, taped sounds, voice and more; over the years, he has also performed on sampler and electronics. The '80s found Curran creating large-scale environmental works in quarries, ports, caverns, on lakes, etc. During this time, he also staged radio concerts of three and six ensembles performing simultaneously from various parts of Europe. From 1990 on, Curran has occasionally collaborated on sound installations with artist Melissa Gould. He has also worked with dance companies and composed for avant-garde theater in Rome. Curran's instrumental works have been commissioned by Kronos Quartet, Aki Takahashi, Rova, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra and more. Some of his awards include those from Ars Acoustica International, NPR and the NEA. He taught briefly at the Academia Nazionale d'Arts, and starting in the mid-90s served as guest professor at California's Mills College. Recordings of Curran's works appear on several labels, including CRI, New Albion and Tzadik.


Cost: $15 general, $10 seniors and students