Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Jan 28 2017 7:30 PM

Bay Area violinist Sarah Wood, D.M.A. pursues a career as a frequent recitalist, chamber musician and orchestral leader. She performs with the Circadian String Quartet, as acting Principal Second of the Berkeley Symphony, and acting Assistant Concertmaster of the California Symphony. As a freelancer, she performs with the San Francisco Symphony as well as other orchestras in the area. In past years, Sarah has soloed with Music in the Mountains Festival Orchestra, the Villa Sinfonia, Panache & Icicle Creek Chamber Orchestras. Internationally, she has performed in the Netherlands, in Tunisia as a musical ambassador with Cultures in Harmony, and in Chile on Easter Island.

Sarah completed her doctorate in violin performance at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where she helped design ergonomic violin equipment with Violinist in Balance. She also holds a Bachelor’s and Master’s from the Cleveland Institute of Music where she was a student of Paul Kantor and William Preucil. Other teachers include Zaven Melikian, Andrés Cárdenes, Lis Perry, and Robin Sharp. For more information visit

Miles Graber received his musical training at the Juilliard School, where he studied with Anne Hull, Phyllis Kreuter, Hugh Aitken, and Louise Behrend. He has lived and worked in the San Francisco Bay Area since 1971, where he has developed a wide reputation as an accompanist and collaborative pianist for instrumentalists and singers. He has performed with numerous solo artists, including Sarah Chang, Cho-Liang Lin, Camilla Wicks, Axel Strauss, Mimi Stillman, Judith LeClair, Frederica von Stade, Martha Aarons, and Lev Polyakin. Mr. Graber has been associated with such ensembles as the New Century Chamber Orchestra, Midsummer Mozart, the Oakland Symphony, the Berkeley Symphony, the California Symphony, the Santa Rosa Symphony, Oakland Lyric Opera, Berkeley Opera, and Opera San Jose. He has been a frequent performer with members of San Francisco Symphony, San Jose Symphony, Berkeley Symphony, California Symphony, Santa Rosa Symphony, San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra, Oakland Symphony, Oakland Symphony Youth Orchestra, UC Berkeley Symphony, and members of the faculty at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. For more information visit

Five Melodies for Violin and Piano, Op. 35b Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
I. Andante
II. Lento, ma non troppo
III. Animato, ma non allegro
IV. Andantino, un poco scherzando
V. Andante non troppo

Suite Italienne for Violin and Piano Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
I. Introduzione
II. Serenata
III. Tarantella
IV. Gavotta con due Varazioni
V. Scherzino
VI. Minuetto e Finale

Violin Sonata No. 1 in D minor, Op. 75 Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
I. Allegro agitato – Adagio
II. Allegretto moderato – Allegro molto

Cost: $20 General, $15 Seniors/Students