Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Oct 21 2017 4:00 PM

Taube Atrium Theater
Veterans Building 4th floor 401 Van Ness Ave San Francisco, CA 94102

San Francisco Contemporary Music Players in Concert

In our On Stage series, which brings to the stage some of the most influential contemporary classical composers of the 20th and 21st centuries, SFCMP’s season-opener concert will juxtapose three looks at musical color, three sonic landscapes, and three provocative composers. Featuring the USA premiere of a new work by Philippe Leroux, as well as a world premiere by California composer Nicole Mitchell, whose work celebrates African-American culture while reaching across genres, and Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen, whose work Schnee is esteemed as one of the first classics of 21st-century music. This concert will offer fluid interactions within a chamber ensemble and an electric (and eclectic) combination of instruments. This event will feature Nicole Mitchell in the “How Music Is Made” composer talk segment.


Philippe LEROUX
Postlude à l’Épais (2016) 9’ (U.S. Premiere)
Flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano

Procession Time (2004) 15’ (World Premiere)
Alto flute, bass clarinet, cello, piano

Hans ABRAHAMSEN Schnee (2008) 57’
Piccolo/alto flute, english horn, eb/bass clarinets, percussion, 2 pianos, violin, viola, cello


*free and open to the public
4:00 pm Open Dress Rehearsal of Procession Time by Nicole Mitchell
4:30 pm – 5:20 pm Composer Talk with Nicole Mitchell facilitated by Steven Schick

*open to ticket buyers
6:45 pm Pre-concert discussion with Artistic Director Steven Schick and Players
7:30 pm Concert
9:00 pm Post-concert party