Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Oct 21 2017 7:30 PM

Taube Atrium Theatre
Veterans Building 4th floor, 401 Van Ness Ave San Francisco, CA 94102

SFCMP in Concert: Works by ABRAHAMSEN, LEROUX and MITCHELL. SFCMP's season-opener concert will juxtapose three looks at musical color, three sonic landscapes, and three provocative composers. The concert will feature the west coast premiere of a new work by Philippe Leroux, as well as a world premiere by California composer Nicole Mitchell, whose work celebrates African-American culture while reaching across genres, and "Schnee" by Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen, a work esteemed as one of the first classics of 21st-century music.

This concert will offer fluid interactions within a chamber ensemble and an electric (and eclectic) combination of instruments. This event also will feature Nicole Mitchell in the "How Music Is Made" composer talk segment.

This concert is part of our "On Stage" series, which brings to the stage some of the most influential contemporary classical composers of the 20th and 21st centuries.


Philippe LEROUX
"Postlude a l'Epais" (2016) 9' (West Coast Premiere)
Flute, clarinet, piano, violin, cello

"Procession Time" (2017) 15' (World Premiere)
Alto flute, bass clarinet, piano, cello

"Schnee" (2008) 57'
Piccolo, alto flute, English horn, eb/bass clarinet, percussion, 2 pianos, violin, viola, cello


HOW MUSIC IS MADE (free and open to the public)
4:00 pm Open Dress Rehearsal of Procession Time by Nicole Mitchell
4:30 pm - 5:20 pm Composer Talk with Nicole Mitchell facilitated by Steven Schick

CONCERT (open to ticket buyers)
6:45 pm Pre-concert discussion with Artistic Director Steven Schick and Players
7:30 pm Concert
9:00 pm Post-concert party

2017-18 Season Subscriptions and Memberships On Sale Now

SUBSCRIBE or BECOME A MEMBER today for the best ticket prices! Visit for information on subscriptions and memberships, starting at just $6.25 per month.

Cost: $15 - $35