Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Dec 2 2017 7:30 PM

Claire Chase, flute

Music from Density 2036

Tyshawn Sorey, percussion
Pauchi Sasaki, violin and voice
Levy Lorenzo, sound designer and live electronics

An exquisite instrumentalist who has been at the vanguard of a generation of musicians invigorating the music world with bold ideas and boundless energy, Claire Chase has been called a "staggering virtuoso with the assurance of a rock star" (Los Angeles Times). For her Density 2036 project, the flutist—a MacArthur Fellow and founder of the International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE)—will commission a new body of work for solo flute each year for a total of 23 years, until the 100th anniversary of Edgard Varèse's groundbreaking flute solo, Density 21.5. At BAMPFA, she performs music from Density, Parts I–V (2013–17).

World-Premiere Marathon Performance

Density 2036: Part I (Prelude)

Steve ReichVermont Counterpoint (1982)
Marcos BalterPessoa (2013, West Coast Premiere)
Alvin LucierAlmost New York (2002)
Philip GlassPiece in the Shape of a Square (1967)
Mario Diaz de LeónLuciform (2013)
Edgard VarèseDensity 21.5 (1936)
Density 2036: Part I (Prelude) is dedicated to Fred Anderson.

Density 2036: Part II (2014)

Felipe LaraMeditation and Calligraphy (West Coast Premiere)
Felipe LaraParábolas na Caverna (2013–14, West Coast Premiere)
George LewisEmergent (West Coast Premiere)
Matthias PintscherBeyond (A System of Passing) (2013–14, West Coast Premiere)
Du YunAn Empty Garlic
Density 2036: Part II (2014) is dedicated to Elise Mann.

Density 2036: Part III (2015)

Dai FujikuraLila (West Coast Premiere)
Francesca VerunelliThe Famous Box Trick (West Coast Premiere)
Nathan DavisLimn (West Coast Premiere)
Jason Eckardt The Silenced (West Coast Premiere)
Pauline Oliveros Intensity 20.15: Grace Chase (West Coast Premiere)
Density 2036: Part III (2015) is dedicated to Steven Schick.

Density 2036: Part IV (2016)

Edgard VarèseDensity 21.5 (1936), with a movement score by Julie Beauvais, version one, (Bay Area Premiere)
Suzanne FarrinThe Stimulus of Loss (Bay Area Premiere)
Tyshawn SoreyBertha's Lair (Bay Area Premiere)
Vijay IyerFive Empty Chambers (Bay Area Premiere)
Pauchi SasakiGama XV: Piece for Two Speaker Dresses (Bay Area Premiere)
Density 2036: Part IV (2016) is dedicated to the loving memory of Pauline Oliveros (1932—2016).

Density 2036: Part V (2017)

Marcos BalterPan (concert preview)