Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Feb 16 2019 8:00 PM

The Mills College Music Department and the Center for Contemporary Music present
Mills Music Now

(Jean Macduff Vaux Composer-in-Residence)
An evening of works by one of the legendary pioneers of live electronic music. Guest composer David Behrman performs with Zeena Parkins (harp), William Winant (percussion), and the Mills Contemporary Performance Ensemble.

Saturday, February 16, 2019
8:00 pm
Littlefield Concert Hall

$15 general, $10 seniors and students
Tickets may be purchased at the door, or in advance at:

Please like and share our Facebook event:

Mills Music Now:

Mills College
5000 MacArthur Blvd
Oakland, CA 94613



David Behrman:
Figure in a Clearing (1976, revived 2018)
cello and laptop

Runthrough (1967, revived 2016)
2 performers on flashlights, a 3rd on laptop

Mills Open Space
based on Open Space with Brass (2011 — a commission from the Cunningham Dance Co. for its final performances)
for electronics + the ensemble

Get. Over. It. (new)
tweet by Hakeem Jeffries, 1/14/19
vocalists and ensemble


David Behrman has been active as a composer and artist since the 1960s. Over the years he has made sound and multimedia installations as well as compositions for performance in concerts. My Dear Siegfried, Leapday Night, On the Other Ocean, Interspecies Smalltalk and Open Space with Brass are among Behrman's works for soloists and ensembles. Among his sound and multimedia installations are Cloud Music (a collaboration with Robert Watts and Bob Diamond); Pen Light (2002), and View Finder (2005.) Cloud Music was acquired (2013) into the permanent collection of the Smithsonian Museum. Together with Robert Ashley, Alvin Lucier and Gordon Mumma, Behrman founded the Sonic Arts Union in 1966. Sonic Arts performed extensively in North America and Europe from 1966 till 1976. He was co-director of the Center for Contemporary Music at Mills College from 1975 to 1980. Over a period of several decades Behrman was associated as composer / performer with the Cunningham Dance Company and received commissions to compose music for several of the repertory dances. The first of those, “Walkaround Time” from 1968, was revised and restaged in 2017 for the Paris Opera Ballet. During the Sixties and Seventies he assisted John Cage and David Tudor with several projects, among them 9 Evenings: Theatre and Engineering (EAT) in 1966. Behrman has received grants, commissions and residencies from various sources, among them the Foundation for Contemporary Arts, the DAAD, the Atlantic Center for the Arts and the Japan / United States Friendship Commission. In 2016 he held the Inge Maren Otto composer’s fellowship at the American Academy in Berlin.

Audio recordings of his works are on the Alga Marghen, XI, Lovely Music, Wergo and Pogus labels; videos can be viewed at and

Wave Train (1966)

On the Other Ocean

Interpretations: David Behrman Discusses "My Dear Siegfried"


Cost: $15 general, $10 seniors and students
Audio samples in which musicians at this event play: