Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Mon, Feb 4 2019 7:30 PM

Mills College Ensemble Room
Mills College 5000 MacArthur Blvd Oakland, CA 94613

The Mills College Music Department and the Center for Contemporary Music presents
Songlines Series

Andrew Raffo Dewar

Monday, February 4th, 2019
7:30 PM
Ensemble Room

Free Admission

Andrew Raffo Dewar’s “Ghosts in the Uncanny Valley II” (2018) is a 35-minute composition for improvising acoustic quartet with live electronics programmed in the Kyma sound design environment. The electronics analyze, manipulate, and expand upon the sounds of the acoustic instruments in real time, creating an electronically “extended” (and altered) quartet. The quartet features the composer (sax), Gino Robair (prepared piano), Kyle Bruckmann (oboe/English horn), and John Shiurba (acoustic guitar).

Andrew Raffo Dewar (b. 1975 Rosario, Argentina) is a composer, improviser, soprano saxophonist, electronic musician, ethnomusicologist, and arts organizer whose work has been performed or installed throughout North America, Southeast Asia, and Europe. He appears on nearly two dozen recordings, including work with experimental music innovators Anthony Braxton, Bill Dixon, Steve Lacy and Alvin Lucier. Recent performance venues include the Smithsonian Institution, the National Jazz Museum in Harlem, Roulette, and The Stone in NYC, and (with Braxton) the Venice Biennale di Musica. He has received support for his work from the National Endowment for the Arts, Chamber Music America, The Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, NewMusicUSA, ASCAP, the Getty Foundation, Arts International, Meet The Composer, The San Francisco Friends of Chamber Music, and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Dewar is an Associate Professor in New College and the School of Music at the University of Alabama.

Mills College
5000 MacArthur Blvd
Oakland, CA 94613

Matthew Ka Git Wong
Center for Contemporary Music TA

Cost: Free
✚gCal  ✚iCal