Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Thu, May 14 2020 3:00 PM

Internet Streaming
Online
Click for Venue page

Streaming:Click for stream  Click to make donation  
Claire Chase: Live New Music Marathon
featuring works from DENSITY 2036
(including Pamela Z's Louder Warmer Denser)

Claire Chase, flutes

Thursday, May 14, 6-10pm EDT (3-7pm PDT)

Join CLAIRE CHASE for a wild four-hour LIVE STREAM Marathon of music from the Density 2036 project, generously hosted by Music on the Rebound in support of the New Music Solidarity Fund. Claire plays selections from Density 2036 (2013-2020) from her living room in Crown Heights, Brooklyn to raise money for the New Music Solidarity Fund. Solo flute works by Steve Reich, Marcos Balter, Mario Diaz de Leon, Felipe Lara, Nathan Davis, Suzanne Farrin, Du Yun, Dai Fujikura, Richard Beaudoin, Pauline Oliveros, Phyllis Chen, Pamela Z, as well as surprise world premieres every hour.
(Pamela Z's work will appear at the top of "Set 5" at approximately 6:30pm PDT/ 9:30pm EDT.)

The New Music Solidarity Fund has a goal of raising $500,000 by May 15 to make possible 1000 $500 grants to struggling artists in the new-music community. All money raised during the concert will go directly to the Fund.

Claire Chase

Schedule:

6:00-6:45 pm (EDT) / 3.00-3:45 pm (PDT)
Set 1: Selections from Density 2036, prelude (2013)
Music by: Steve Reich, Marcos Balter, Mario Diaz de Leon, and a Surprise World Premiere

7:00-7:45 pm (EDT) / 4.00-4:45 pm (PDT)
Set 2: Selections from Density 2036, parts i & ii (2013-14)
Music by: Felipe Lara, Du Yun, and a Surprise World Premiere

8:00-8:30 pm (EDT) / 5.00-5:30 pm (PDT)
Set 3: Selections from Density 2036, parts iii & iv (2015-16)
Music by: Dai Fujikura, Suzanne Farrin, Nathan Davis, Pauline Oliveros, and a Surprise World Premiere

8:45-9:15 pm (EDT) / 5.45-6:15 pm (PDT)
Set 4: Selections from Density 2036, part v (2017-18)
Music by: Marcos Balter and a Surpise World Premiere

9:30-10 pm (EDT) / 6:30-7 pm (PDT)
Set 5: Selections from Density 2036, part vi (2018-19)
Music by: Pamela Z, Phyllis Chen, and a Surpise World Premiere

Claire Chase Live (from her living room)

MUSIC ON THE REBOUND
New Music Solidarity Fund
✚gCal  ✚iCal
Audio samples in which musicians at this event play:
Videos featuring musicians playing at this event
BREATHING is a movement from Carbon Song Cycle (a inter-media chamber work by composer/performer Pamela Z and visual artist Christina McPhee). The work was originally written for voice & electronics, bassoon, viola, cello, percussion, and tape. This is a solo version performed by the composer (with just voice, processing, and tape), recorded at a 3/13/2014 duo concert with Joan La Barbara as part of the 2014 ROOM Series. Pamela Z is using a gesture controller (designed and built by Donald Swearingen). © 2013 Last Letter Music (ASCAP)