Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, May 18 2024 2:00 PM

San Francisco Public Library, Golden Gate Valley Branch
1801 Green St. San Francisco, CA 94123

The Wooden Fish Ensemble presents concerts of music and musicians from a variety of cultural and national backgrounds working together in a collaborative way. The Ensemble has presented concerts of traditional music from Asia and new music by a diverse group of composers that includes John Cage, Christian Wolff, Frederic Rzewski, Morton Feldman, Hyo-shin Na and Walter Zimmermann. They have given numerous world premieres.

Terrie Baune - violin & Ellen Ruth Rose - viola

Composer Hyo-shin Na - commentary

In addition to being Co-Concertmaster of the Oakland Symphony, Terrie Baune is concertmaster of the North State Symphony and the Eureka Symphony, a member of the Earplay Ensemble, Music Director of the TBAM Festival in Trinidad, CA, and Associate Director of the Humboldt Chamber Music Workshop.

A champion of contemporary music in the United States and abroad, violist Ellen Ruth Rose is currently a member of Empyrean Ensemble, the flagship new music ensemble in residence at UC Davis, and Earplay, the San Francisco-based contemporary ensemble.

In Korea Hyo-shin Na has twice been awarded the Korean National Composers Prize (for Western instrumental music & for Korean traditional instrumental music), and in the west she has been commissioned by the Fromm Foundation at Harvard University, the Koussevitzky Foundation, the Zellerbach Family Foundation, the Argosy Foundation, the W & F Hewlett Foundation, the Elaine and Richard Fohr Foundation, InterMusic SF, the Other Minds Festival, and the Los Angeles International New Music Festival among many others.

“Na’s works revealed an exquisite sensibility to time, tone color, space, and line… rich with a sense of dialogue… the extraordinary sense of pacing brought Na’s works to a more exalted level.” — San Francisco Classical Voice (


The Sway of the Branch II for violin and viola

Weaving Variations for violin and viola

Cost: Free