Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Moe! Staiano
Drums, percussion, composer, orchestra leader
Moe! Staiano is a percussionist who usually uses found objects, but has moved to doing drumming on found objects on his trap set (i.e. prepared percussion). Moe! (yes, he includes the exclaimation mark in his name) has experimented through the years though solo percussion using pipes, food pans, pressure caps, sheet metals, nick-nacks & other stuff that has been found, given or stolen (mainly from Pizza Hut when he worked there including a nifty Spatula that he bows). One can expect to see Moe!'s show as a visual eye pleaser: running around throwing pipes on concrete, walking on pans with his feet to mute sounds or running amok, throwing his body into old cassette tapes or two dozen cymbals in any given performance. His shows can sometimes expect a big mess in one fashion or another (which he replies that the aftermath of his performances represents his life) with implements of mixers & vibrators on objects spewed throughout the set. He's been a good boy cleaning up after himself, too. He has two CD's out of his solo/collaborative recordings. The second CD, "The Lateness of Yearly Presentations" was released in 2002 on his micro-label Dephine Knormal Musik, a release split with a French label, Amanita Records. The first solo CD “The Non-Study of First Impressions”, is now out of print. He finished recording and mixing a third solo CD this year, entitled “The Absolute Tradition of No Traditions” and will be shopping a label for its release.

He's collaborated with many musicians including Ron Anderson (the Molecules, RonRuins, PAK), Tom Nunn, David Slusser, Karen Stackpole, Ches Smith, Michael Evans (God Is My Co-Pilot), Caroline Kraabel & John Edwards (Shock Exchange), Gino Robair, William Hooker, Tom Dimuzio and has performed with all these plus Henry Kaiser, Mark Growden's Electric Pinata, Amy Denio, Cheer-Accident, sfSoundGroup among other.

Formaly, Moe! was a member of two important bands: Vacuum Tree Head (formerly doing metal percussion and then playing trap set) and with Sleepytime Gorilla Museum (doing THE metal percussion), a band that consist of Carla Kihlsteadt, Nils Frykdahl, Dan Rathbun (all from Charming Hostess, two from Idiot Flesh) and Mathias Bossi. Sleepytime Gorilla Museum has one release on Seeland (Negativland's label) and a live CD on Sickroom Records from Chicago as well as a second studio album out on Web of Mimicry, “Of Natural History”. Many of the members, including Moe!, collaborates with the butoh dancer Shinichi Momo Koga under that company name Inkboat & have performed around Seattle, Mendocino & San Francisco. Moe! is forming another band with bassist George Cremaschi and vocalist Jesse Quattro. They have still have not decided on a name and are currently looking for a guitarist, a trumpet player and a second drummer.

Moreover, he also does text/graphic scores for a collective ensemble for what he calls MOE!KESTRA!, which employs many musicians, well at least between 15-45 players (and sometimes more, sometimes less than those numbers), and play scores Moe! has written including a piece for destroying a piano (Piece No.1: Death of a Piano), sex toys (Piece No.2: Death by Dildo; which once got sponsored by Good Vibrations...seriously) among four other pieces that have been performed though 1997-2005 (seven pieces in all; about 40 performances & counting). Fellow employees has included ROVA's Bruce Ackley, George Cremaschi, Michael de la Cuesta, Cheryl Leonard, Matt Ingals, Fred Frith, William Winant, John Shiurba, Bill Horvitz, Tom Yoder, Aaron Bennett, Dan Plonsey, Garth Powell, Peter Valsamis, Kris Force (Amber Asylum), Jonas Muller, Adam Lane, Matthew Sperry, Jonathan Segel (Camper Van Beethoven), Tony Maimone (Pere Ubu, They Might Be Giants), Michael Evans (God Is My Co-Pilot), Sean Meehan, Shelley Burgon, Danny Tunick (Guv’ner), David First, all past and present members of Sleepytime Gorilla Museum among many other musicians. In 1999, he wrote & conducted a piece written for the Seattle ensemble, the Degenerate Art Ensemble, entitled "Piece No.6: And They Swore They All Slept Soundly", which was also performed by the Moe!kestra!. The debut disc of Moe!kestra! was released in June of 2003 of two conducted improvisations entitled "Two Forms of Multitudes: Conducted Improvisations". He's currently planning on releasing more Moe!kestra! material in the near future and hope's to write more in the near future. One piece entitled "Piece No.7: An Inescapable Siren Within Earshot Of Hearing Distance Therein And Other Whereabouts", was written for guitars (played with all low E-strings played with a coiled implement), strings, percussion, u-bolts, wine glasses and sirens. He finished writing a new piece that was performed at the San Francisco International Arts Festival called Piece No.8 for strings, percussion and prepared guitar.

Moe! has still not yet gone through any music theory.
Upcoming Events:

Saturday, June 1 2024 1:00 PM
San Francisco Public Library, Koret Auditorium [100 Larkin Street]
Surplus 1980  More...
CDs on which Moe! Staiano appears:
Kipple Flashes of Irrational Happiness
Artist: Kipple
Title: Flashes of Irrational Happiness
Label: Evander Music EM 032
Label page on this site: Evander Music
Evander Music EM 032
Moe! Staiano's MOE!KESTRA! Two Forms of Multitudes: Conducted Improvisations
Artist: Moe! Staiano's MOE!KESTRA!
Title: Two Forms of Multitudes: Conducted Improvisations
Label: Pax Recordings PR90261
Label page on this site: Pax Recordings
Pax Recordings PR90261
Moe! Staiano The Non-Study of first Impressions
Artist: Moe! Staiano
Title: The Non-Study of first Impressions
Label: Dephine Knormal Musik
Label page on this site: Dephine Knormal Musik
Dephine Knormal Musik
Metal Eater Virus
Artist: Metal Eater
Title: Virus
Label: Dephine Knormal Musik 002
Label page on this site: Dephine Knormal Musik
Dephine Knormal Musik 002
Sleepytime Gorilla Museum Grand Opening And Closing
Artist: Sleepytime Gorilla Museum
Title: Grand Opening And Closing
Label: Chaosophy
Label page on this site: Chaosophy
Moe! Staiano The Lateness of Yearly Presentations
Artist: Moe! Staiano
Title: The Lateness of Yearly Presentations
Label: Dephine Knormal Musik DKM06
Label page on this site: Dephine Knormal Musik
Dephine Knormal Musik DKM06