Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Artist Quartet Doloroso
Title Any Other Time
Label Evander Music - Em 042 -
Released On 3/1/2007

Quartet Doloroso is a New York based jazz group featuring Dave Pietro -alto, Morris Acevedo -guitar, Jeremy Stratton -bass, and Anthony Pinciotti -drums.

The band takes its name from a Paul Desmond composition entitled "Curacao Doloroso." He recorded the tune 1963 with Jim Hall on guitar, Eugene Wright on bass and Connie Kay on Drums. This quartet made a number of recordings during the '50's and '60s including an album with strings. It's the sound and esthetic of this classic quartet (which sometimes featured Percy Heath on bass) that inspired the formation of Quartet Doloroso.

Formed in 2004, the band has put together a repertoire of dozens of great tunes and arrangements. The band members are all mainstays on the jazz scene and this project highlights all their talents. Dave Pietro (Toshiko Akiyoshi, Lionel Hampton) and Morris Acevedo (Arnette Cobb, Richie Cole) have warm sounds and compliment each other beautifully. Jeremy Stratton (Lee Konitz, Teddy Charles) and Anthony Pinciotti
(James Moody, Kenny Barron) are swingin'.

On a relaxed afternoon in July 2006 the band went into the
recording studio to capture the mellow vibe of the gig they had just played the night before down the street. And capture it they did. Their new release on Evander Music, "Any Other Time," features originals by Desmond and Hall and a few standards that they recorded together. The infectious melodies and the unique melodic structures inspire cool interplay and improvisation.