Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Uptown Nightclub
1928 Telegraph Ave
Oakland CA 94612  
(510) 451-8100

Locally Owned and Operated by Oaklanders of 20plus years! Committed to bringing you National, International and Local talent. Cultivating the rich artistry of the Bay Area. The Uptown Nightclub has hosted names like: Buzzcocks, Germs, Ice Cube, Frank Black, Dick Dale, Lemmy, Reverend Horton Heat, High on Fire, Helmet, Dickies, Chuck D, Death Angel, Blasters, Skatalites, Green Day, Reverand Horton Heat, Sidecar Tommy, Thee Oh Sees, Swingin Utters, Meteors........ Dedicated to giving you what you deserve!
For booking please email

Upcoming Events:
Tuesday, June 12 2018 9:00 PM
Active Music Series presents:
- Apartment D
- Madalyn Merkey
- Jon Arkin & Jordan Glenn

Apartment D is an electro-improv duo that explores sound and space by combining live electronic processing and experimental performance of voice and pipa during improvisation. Ingibjörg Friðriksdóttir ( brings a background of both experimental electronic music and vocal training from Iceland. Sophia Shen ( combines her traditional Chinese pipa playing techniques with her new approaches to the instrument. The unique soundscape and the emotional depth that the duo creates are a result of an exchange and convergence from two very contrasting musical backgrounds and cultures.

Madalyn Merkey creates sound events with simple sonic material—voice, sine waves, and pulses—to generate lush synthetic environments with the aid of acoustic readings from microphones and sensors. She has performed solo computer music compositions at Yale Union, Issue Project Room, and Block Cinema, and designed sound installations for Robert Irwin’s Central Garden at the Getty Center in Los Angeles. Merkey is the English translator of the Italian music text Due scuole di musica elettronica in Italia (Die Schachtel, 2016), written by composer Enore Zaffiri and published in Milan originally by Silva Editore in 1968. Recordings of her work Scent (2012) and Valley Girl (2014) are available on New Images Ltd.

Jon Arkin & Jordan Glenn are drummers who are known for making sounds that are outside of the main sequence of percussive timbres. With the element of AI recklessly infused via Arkin's dangerously-sentient artificial neural networks, the duo's mixture of composition and improvisation carries the risk of usurpation by chance operations beyond their (or anyone's) control.

Jordan Glenn - drums
Jon Arkin - drums & processing  More...

Tuesday, July 10 2018 9:00 PM
Active Music Series presents:
- Aram Shelton & Jacob Felix Heule duo
- Ashen Cleric (Nathan Clevenger, Crystal Pascucci, Cory Wright, Jordan Glenn, & Tim DeCillis)
- Waxy Tomb  More...

Tuesday, August 14 2018 9:00 PM
Active Music Series presents:
- Key West (Brian Pedersen, Randylee Sutherland, Jay Korber)
+TBA  More...