Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Old First Concerts
1751 Sacramento St.
San Francisco CA 94109  

Old First Concerts, established in 1970 as a year-round concert series, continues to present an astonishing array of programs performed by outstanding musicians from the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. Old First Concerts has a distinctive niche within the local musical community with a solid history of creating and programming an incubator space for emerging and established musicians and ensembles of all genres. The musical content (our curatorial mission) is artist-driven on every level, with no restrictions placed on the musicians' artistic vision.

The concert season is developed by Director Kathy Barr Kathy Barrin conjunction with Program Associate Rick Bahto and an Artist Advisory Board of musicians from throughout the region, representing a variety of disciplines. Musicians and ensembles propose an evening-length program, which is considered and evaluated. The result of this approach is a series that features diverse and often unconventional repertoire that ranges from classical recital and chamber performances to blues, folk, avant-garde, and jazz, as well as multicultural and world music. The series presents numerous World, US and regional premieres each year, often by emerging or mid-career Bay Area composers. Please visit our Performance Archives to explore past performances.

Artists perform in an acoustically and aesthetically appealing setting, seating approximately 450 people, with a backdrop of vividly-colored stained glass windows, and an entranceway featuring an elaborately hand painted ceiling. The venue is an ideal median between the larger local performance and recital halls, and the smaller community centers and clubs. Pianists have developed a deep fondness for performing on Old First Concerts' excellent New York Steinway (circa 1980).

Upcoming Events:
Sunday, March 10 2024 4:00 PM
Streaming and in-person:Click for stream  Click to make donation  
In-person & Online - Wooden Fish Ensemble plays Women Composers! – Sunday, March 10 at 4 pm
Wooden Fish Ensemble plays Women Composers!
Centuries of Innovation in Celebration of International Women’s Day



Terrie Baune, violin & Thalia Moore, cello & Thomas Schultz, piano

Hyo-shin Na Many Paradises for violin, cello, and piano (World Premiere)
Galina Ustvolskaya Duet for violin and piano
Ruth Crawford Piano Study in Mixed Accents for piano solo
Clara Schumann selected Romances from Op. 11 and Op. 21 for piano solo

The Wooden Fish Ensemble presents concerts of music and musicians from a variety of cultural and national backgrounds working together in a collaborative way. The Ensemble has presented concerts of traditional music from Asia and new music by a diverse group of composers that includes John Cage, Christian Wolff, Frederic Rzewski, Morton Feldman, Hyo-shin Na and Walter Zimmermann. They have given numerous world premieres.

Wooden Fish: a fish with eyes always open – the possibility, the ideal of being always alert. Another possibility perhaps more natural to us: to be “disorganized”, with no leader, no director, no hierarchy, but with a malleability of people, direction, sound, listening.

1751 Sacramento Street, SF, CA 94109

A reception will follow the concert. Everyone is cordially invited!
✚gCal  ✚iCal  More...