Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

1750 Arch Street
Berkeley CA 94709  
(510) 643-9990

The UC Berkeley Center for New Music and Audio Technologies (CNMAT) was conceived and established by composer and Professor Emeritus Richard Felciano in the late 1980s — the operating budget officially commenced on July 1, 1989. CNMAT houses a dynamic group of educational, performance and research programs focused on the creative interaction between music and technology. CNMAT’s research program is highly interdisciplinary, linking all of UC Berkeley’s disciplines dedicated to the study or creative use of sound (such as music, architecture, mathematics, statistics, mechanical engineering, computer science, electrical engineering, psychology, physics, space sciences, the Center for New Media, and the Department of Theater, Dance, and Performance Studies). CNMAT’s educational program integrates a Music and Technology component into the Department of Music’s graduate program in music composition - it also supports the undergraduate curriculum in music/technology for music majors and non-music majors.

CNMAT’s events program offers a range of concerts, lectures and other events informed by our research and pedagogy efforts. In our Sound Spatialization Theater, we present concerts that cross cultural and musical barriers and provide a forum for diverse lectures and demonstrations for students, faculty and the community.

Upcoming Events:
Saturday, September 28 2019 9:00 AM

Click for info and registration

Berkeley Computational Music Research (BCMR) invites you to our first annual conference:

Synthesis: Interdisciplinary Collaboration in Computational Music Research
Saturday, September 28, 9am-6pm
UC Berkeley’s Center for New Music and Audio Technology (CNMAT)
Breakfast and lunch will be provided.

Space is limited to 40 participants, so RSVP is required.

To sign up, fill out this google form. For more information, check out our website or contact

Conference Speakers include:

Claire Arthur, Music Theory and Cognitive Musicology, Georgia Tech
Carmine Cella, Music Composition and Technology, UC Berkeley
Kevin Dahan, Music Technology, De Montfort University
Elena Georgieva, Music Technology, Stanford CCRMA
Jon Gillick, School of Information, UC Berkeley
Melanie Hamaguchi, Project IRENE, UC Berkeley
Justin Salamon, Audio Research Group, Adobe Research
Leslie Tilley, Ethnomusicology, MIT

About the Conference:

The deluge of computational techniques developed over the last decade has had a transformative impact in all areas of academic and industrial research. The goal of this conference is to explore potential applications for the integration of these techniques into interdisciplinary music research. This year’s theme, synthesis, emphasizes interdisciplinary collaboration, bringing together scholars with interests in music studies and computational methods. It encourages music researchers and computer scientists to initiate dialogue that will provide new insights into the most pressing questions across disciplines.  More...