Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Apr 14 2018 7:30 PM

Composer Michael Rothkopf and Ric Louchard will perform a concert of their music. Michael and Ric met in college in 1972 and having been presenting joint concerts of our music for over 40 years. Michael and Ric are thrilled to be working with these superb musicians: Monica Scott, cello; Diane Grubbe and Meerenai Shim, flutes; Ron Heglin, voice; Rachel Condry, clarinet; Daniel Magay, saxophones and flute; John Worley, trumpet, and Robert Lopez, drums.

link for tickets:

link to hear Michael's music:

link to hear some of my music:

link to the Center for New Music:

Michael S. Rothkopf has been focused on interactive compositions involving digital technology and artificial intelligence. He will present three pieces, one for computer, one for cello and computer and one for flute duo and computer. Ric Louchard has been incorporating the telling of personal stories into his pieces for the last 2 years., and will present five pieces for ensemble including piano, cello, drums, trombone, clarinet, saxophone, voice, bass flute and trumpet.
Michael S. Rothkopf is a composer of over 50 works of chamber, electronic, orchestral and vocal music. His compositions have been noted for their "remarkable sensuousness" and their evocative ability to create a "sense of time and occasion." Published by American Composers Editions, Rothkopf’s music has been performed by notable soloists, chamber musicians and ensembles such as William Anderson, Ulrich Eichenauer, Jean Kopperud, Tara Helen O’Connor, Cygnus Ensemble and the National Orchestra Association. He has been awarded fellowships from Yaddo, Carnegie Hall, the National Orchestra Association and Columbia University. Currently a Professor of Music at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts – School of Music, he teaches composition, music technology and other graduate courses.

Cost: $10 members/$15 general
Audio samples in which musicians at this event play: