Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Fri, Jan 18 2019 7:30 PM

660 Lomita Dr, Stanford, CA 94305
Click for Venue page

Please join us on the CCRMA Stage for a concert of works by Clarence Barlow. Chryssie Nanou will perform a selection of preludes and fugues for piano from "Ludus Ragalis" in alternation with some of his multichannel electroacoustic pieces.

Pre-concert lecture at 5:30pm:
Before the concert, Mr. Barlow will give a talk about "Five Dodecaphonic Pieces", a series of 12-channel electroacoustic pieces realized in 2016 and 2017. He will also briefly talk about "Approximating Pi" and "Four ISIS Studies", electroacoustic pieces from 2003-2008. These works will be presented in the concert.

FREE and Open to the Public
Friday, January 18
Lecture at 5:30pm
Concert at 7:30pm
CCRMA Stage, The Knoll
Directions and parking:

Clarence Barlow was born in 1945 into the English-speaking minority of Calcutta, where he went to school and college, studied piano and music theory, started composing in 1957 and obtained a science degree in 1965. After activities as pianist, conductor and music theory teacher he moved in 1968 to Cologne, where he studied composition and electronic music until 1973, also studying sonology at Utrecht University from 1971-1972. His use of a computer as a compositional aid dates from 1971. From 1982-1994 he was in charge of computer music at the biannual Darmstadt New Music Summer Courses and from 1984-2005 lecturer on computer music at Cologne Music University. From 1990-1991 he was guest professor of composition at the Folkwang University Essen, from 1990-94 artistic director of the Institute of Sonology at the Royal Conservatory The Hague, where from 1994-2006 he was professor of composition and sonology. From 1994-2010 he was a member of the International Academy of Electroacoustic Music in Bourges. From 2005-2006 he was guest professor of composition at the School of Music and Performing Arts ESMAE in Porto. In 2006 he was appointed Corwin professor and head of composition at the Music Department, University of California in Santa Barbara. in 2018 he served as guest professor at the Catalonia College of Music ESMUC in Barcelona.

Born in Greece, Chryssie Nanou showed an exceptional musical talent at an early age winning First Prize at the “Filonos” National Youth Competition and a prize in the European Young Soloist Competition. Pursuing her musical studies in France, she graduated from the Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris / Alfred Cortot where she studied with Germaine Mounier, obtaining in consecutive years the Diplome Superieur d’Enseignement, Execution and Concertist. After pursuing a graduate diploma in piano and computer music from the Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, Maryland), Chryssie became a 2003 Visiting Scholar at CCRMA (Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics) at Stanford University. A prizewinner at the Albert Roussel International Competition, she performs regularly in recitals and chamber music concerts around the world, featuring an eclectic repertoire that includes works from Couperin, Berio, Crumb, Beethoven, Sciarrino and Davidovsky. As a solo artist and chamber musician, she has given the world premieres of works by many young composers including the first performance of George Antheil’s Ballet Mechanique in a version with synchronized film. Among her recent performances are concerts with the San Francisco Contemporary Players, SEAMUS, the Third Practice Festival and the Electric Rainbow Coalition Festival at Dartmouth. Chryssie has served as the Artistic Coordinator of CCRMA (Stanford University, Palo Alto, California) where she oversaw both the CCRMA Concert Series as well as the stricly Ballroom concert series. She currently sits on the board of the International Computer Music Association (ICMA) and performs extensively in the United States and around the world.

Cost: FREE