Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Dec 21 2019 8:00 PM

Sunnyvale Sunnyvale
Click for Venue page


-Rent Romus' Lords of Outland (celebrating 25 years of music and their new album "25 Years Under the Mountain" with Rent Romus, Ray Schaeffer, Philip Everett, and Alex Cohen)

-gabby fluke-mogul (solo violin)

-David Lechuga-Espadas Patrick Talesfore, Jr. (guitar, drums, improvisation)

Doors at 8PM. Music sometime after. Ask a punk for the address ( $10-20 suggested donation. There will be food and drinks and Maciek Lato will be bartending + making drinks using his signature Lato Brand Polish Vodka



In 1993 Saxophonist, composer Rent Romus leapt out of the box to play in a trio with 60’s drummer James Zitro and Sun Ra cellist Kash Killion. That formation lead to a quartet with drummer, Andrew Borger, bassist Vytas Nagisetty, and trumpet player Jason Olaine. In 1994 Romus named the band Lords of Outland, a collective of like-minded musicians focusing on exploring improvisation, melody, noise, and sound art while acknowledging their jazz and blues roots. In 1995 Romus released the first album You’ll Never be the Same recorded live at Blondies Bar and no Grill in San Francisco. Later that year Romus took his music to Denmark working with a then young pianist Jonas Muller and later in 1996 drummer Stephen Pasborg. The Danish connection continued in 1997 with the release of Adapt…or Die! Featuring drummer David Mihaly, Jon Birdsong on tuba and free jazz legend Danish tenor saxophonist John Tchicai. In the late 90’s bassist Bill Noertker replaced Jon Birdsong who went on to join Beck on tour through Europe. In 2001 trombonist Toyoji Tomita joined for Avatar In the Field a tribute to Albert Ayler and the free poetry project The Metal Quan Yin featuring the works of CJ Borosque. In 2004 drummer Philip Everett and bassist Ray Schaeffer became the regular rhythm section along with Romus’ wife noise artist trumpet player CJ Borosque (Collette McCaslin). Since 2006 the group has recorded ten more albums of original music ranging from unhinged free improvisation to thematic compositional suites inspired by abstract and socio-political poetry, science fiction, horror, and fantasy featuring late trombonist Toyoji Tomita, guitarist Joel Harrison, inventor Tom Nunn, cellist Doug Carroll, vocalist Jesse Quattro, saxophonist Jim Ryan, trumpet player Darren Johnston, bassist Damon Smith, pianist Scott R. Looney, tenor saxophonist Josh Allen, multi-instrumentalist Vinny Golia, and most recently guitarist Alex Cohen.
✚gCal  ✚iCal
Audio samples in which musicians at this event play:
Videos featuring musicians playing at this event
From left, Heikki "Mike" Koskinen digital trumpet, Tane Kannisto saxophone, Teppo Hauta-aho double bass, Ville Rauhala double bass, Rent Romus saxophone and Simo Laihonen drums at Telakka, Tampere, Finland 31.5.2017.