Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Fri, Jun 5 2020 8:00 PM

Streaming:Click for stream  Click to make donation  
Sarah Cahill performs works from her The Future is Female project, a communal feminist immersive listening experience featuring more than sixty compositions by women around the globe.

This concert will be live streamed from Old First Concerts. All donations received before and during this concert go to support Compass Family Services in San Francisco and Old First Concerts.

This is a Live Stream event. Choose the amount you would like to donate and thank you for your support!

The live stream of this concert will benefit two worthy San Francisco organizations, Compass Family Services and Old First Concerts. Compass Family Services provides a wide variety of human services to homeless families and those at risk of homelessness. Both Compass and Old First Concerts have been severely affected by the Covid-19 pandemic shutdown, and urgently need your support.

The Future is Female
Sarah Cahill, piano

Germaine Tailleferre Partita (1957)
Margaret Bonds Troubled Water (1967)
Gabriela Ortiz Preludio y Estudio 3 (2011)
Lois V Vierk Yeah Yeah Yeah (1990)
Sofia Gubaidulina Chaconne (1965)
Grażyna Bacewicz Scherzo (1934)
Betsy Jolas Tango Si? (1984)
Elena Kats-Chernin Peggy’s Rag (1996)
Elizabeth A. Baker Four Planes (2015)

Sarah Cahill, recently called “a sterling pianist and an intrepid illuminator of the classical avant-garde” by The New York Times and “a brilliant and charismatic advocate for modern and contemporary composers” by Time Out New York, has commissioned and premiered over sixty compositions for solo piano. Composers who have dedicated works to Cahill include John Adams, Terry Riley, Frederic Rzewski, Pauline Oliveros, Julia Wolfe, Yoko Ono, Annea Lockwood, and Ingram Marshall. Keyboard Magazine writes, “Through her inspired interpretation of works across the 20th and 21st centuries, Cahill has been instrumental in bringing to life the music of many of our greatest living composers.” She was named a 2018 Champion of New Music, awarded by the American Composers Forum (ACF).

For this program, Sarah performs music from the mid-twentieth century onwards, including Germaine Tailleferre’s Partita (1957), Margaret Bonds’ Troubled Water (1967), Gabriela Ortiz’s Preludio y Estudio 3 (2011), and other works featured in Sarah’s project The Future is Female, a re-investigation and rethinking of the piano literature featuring more than sixty compositions by women around the globe, from the Baroque to the present day. More information about the project can be found at The Future is Female.
✚gCal  ✚iCal