Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Sat, Jan 30 2021 7:30 PM

Ensemble for These Times (E4TT) will start the new year with the next installment of their wildly successful series of contemporary women composers. Sold out last season, their 2021 edition will feature two reprises from the COVID-shortened season: “Matrix” by Bay Area composer Elinor Armer to poetry by Ursula Le Guin and Rella Lossy; and “Rest These Hands” (2014) by Anna Clyne for solo violin. The concert will also include works by Tania León, Jessie Montgomery, Claudia Montero, Marti Epstein, Caroline Shaw, Jennifer Higdon, Missy Mazzoli, Vivian Fung, Anna Clyne, and the remarkable Grażyna Bacewicz.

Musicians: Nanette McGuinness, soprano; Anne Lerner, cello; and season guest pianist Margaret Halbig; and guest violinist Ilana Blumberg.

Virtual pre-concert composer talk at 7:00 p.m. with Elinor Armer and a video introduction by Jessie Montgomery.

*The concert will be live-streamed at no cost via livestream on C4NM’s YouTube and Facebook channels, with pay-what-you-can donations welcome.

More Info:

Cost: $15/$10 (In-person); Free (Live-stream)
✚gCal  ✚iCal