Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Suki O'Kane
ercussionist, composer, instigator

Suki O’Kane is a classically trained mallet percussionist, composer and instigator working with artists from a wide array of of music, movement, expanded cinema and public art genres. She has composed for Theatre of Yugen and inkBoat, performs in the ensembles of Dan Plonsey, and is a member of Thingamajigs Performance Group.with Edward Schocker and Dylan Bolles.

Suki has performed live and recorded with She Mob and its side projects: the mad folk duo Junior Showmanship  and its alter-ego speed metal Winner’s Bitch; in realizations of Jon Brumit’s Vendetta Retreat; with Lucio Menegon in his  Split LipSoundtrack Instumentals and Strangelet projects; with Pamela Z and Christina McPhee in their intermedia workCarbon Song Cycle and with Dohee Lee in her multidisciplinary performance and installation piece Mago.

Her compositions for theater include three commissions for Theatre of Yugen with playwright Erik Ehn: Frankenstein (2003), The Cycle Plays (2007) and Cordelia (2011), part of Ehn’s Soulographie project.  She teamed with Jason Ditzian to compose for Inkboat’s Line Between (2011), was a member of their 95 RITUALS (for Anna Halprin) project (2015) and is collaborating to score their new work Without Us (2017).

Suki’s work has been supported by the Creative Work Fund, the Zellerbach Family Foundation, Oakland Stock and New Music USA.

Contact information:
Email: suki (AT) sukiokane (DOT) com
Upcoming Events:

Thursday, November 30 2017 8:00 PM
Luggage Store Creative Music Series [1007 Market Street SF]
8:00 pm Suki O'Kane (very large percussion) and Tim Perkis (very tiny electronics)
9:00 pm Katt Atchley Duets, featuring Kenneth Atchley, Susan Gervitz, Phillip Greenlief and Claudia La Rocco
text, voice, reeds, electronics  More...
Sunday, December 3 2017 7:30 PM
SIMM Series @ The Musicians Union Hall [116 9th St @ Mission SF]
7:30pm Long Tone Choir
Nancy Beckman/Tom Bickley/Rae Diamond/Tony Domenick/Joe Kuta/Suki O'Kane/Eric Theise
8:30pm Obstreperous Doves
Annelise Zamula, Joshua Marshall - woodwinds/Scott Walton, Bill Noertker - basses/Bethany Schwarz, Daniel Pearce - percussions  More...