Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Tue, Nov 15 2016 8:03 PM



sfSound plays it closer to the vest for a change, presenting themselves and subtle variants thereof. The cello/piano duet MARTHA & MONICA performs compositions by MONICA SCOTT and Matt Ingalls; sfSoundGroup with special guests violist JULIE MICHAEL and conductor JOHN KENNEDY perform a delightful bouquet of small ensemble works by SALVATORE SCIARRINO, DAVID ROSENBOOM, and HEATHER FRASCH.

Salvatore Sciarrino - Centauro marino (1984)
per clarinetto, violino, viola, violoncello e pianoforte

Salvatore Sciarrino - Tre Notturni Brillanti (1974-75)
Julie Michael, viola solista

David Rosenboom - Pocket Pieces (1966)
clarinet, alto saxophone, viola, and prepared piano

Heather Frasch - to disassemble & reconstruct (2010)
for english horn, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone, viola, and cello

Monica Scott - more than nine minutes (2016)
for martha & monica

Matt Ingalls - Duo, Op. 2, No. 2, v. 2 (2013/16)
for martha & monica

Monica Scott, cello
Julie Michael, viola
Hadley McCarroll, piano
John Kennedy, conductor
Benjamin Kreith, violin
John Ingle, alto and bari saxophones
Matt Ingalls, clarinet and bass clarinet
Kyle Bruckmann, english horn

Cost: $15 [$10 members/underemployed]
Audio samples in which musicians at this event play:
Videos featuring musicians playing at this event
The premiere, at the 2013 Outsound New Music Summit, of Wrack ...Awaits Silent Tristero's Empire (made possible by the Chamber Music America New Jazz Works commissioning program).