Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Mon, Nov 6 2017 8:00 PM

Center for New Music
55 Taylor Street San Francisco
Click for Venue page

Phillip Greenlief Presents 6 on the 6th - performing the west coast premiere of THE STATES UNITED

Donald Trump was elected 45th President of the United States on November 6th 2016. This November 6th, Phillip Greenlief and musicians will perform THE STATES UNITED, a map score originally composed for any ensemble or group of performers from diverse disciplines. The composition, like many of Greenlief's MAP SCORES are open works intended to inspire artists to create works based on images and an assortment of compositional elements. In this case, the map sources are the states of the union, and the cues are text based - words intended to inspire musicians to improvise.

Featuring: Kyle Bruckmann - oboe, English horn; Evelyn Davis - prepared piano; Phillip Greenlief - tenor saxophone, Bb clarinet; Claudia La Rocco - voice, text; Lisa Mezzacappa - bass; Tim Perkis - live electronics

The words presented in THE STATES UNITED have a connection to our history, our current state of affairs and our future - while some are clearly politically charged, others are ambiguous, some are meant to provoke, some are open ended and can be interpreted in a variety of ways.

We hope you will join us for this special performance.

Cost: $15 - $10 students/members
Audio samples in which musicians at this event play:
Videos featuring musicians playing at this event
avantNOIR, a suite of compositions for jazz quartet plus guests, is a musical companion to the crime novels of Dashiell Hammett and Paul Auster. All music by Lisa Mezzacappa.
The premiere, at the 2013 Outsound New Music Summit, of Wrack ...Awaits Silent Tristero's Empire (made possible by the Chamber Music America New Jazz Works commissioning program).