Serving the San Francisco Bay Area New Music Community

Tue, Dec 10 2019 9:00 PM

Uptown Nightclub
1928 Telegraph Ave Oakland
Click for Venue page

Active Music Series presents:
- Jordan Glenn's BEAK
- New Zombies
- Ackley/fluke-mogul/Mezzacappa

Jordan Glenn's BEAK is a percussion heavy ensemble that blurs the line between dynamic/energetic grooves and chaos. The power of this electric ensemble is wheeled by Jordan Glenn’s curious baton, moving in and out of composed and spontaneous material.
Cory Wright- tenor
Rob Ewing- trombone
Karl Evangelista- guitar
Rei Scampavia- keyboard
Mark Clifford- vibes
Lisa Mezzacappa- bass
Robert Lopez- percussion
Geneva Harrison- drums

New Zombies
Emerging from the Bay Area experimental new music scene, New Zombies is an 11-piece band playing original pieces by Dan Plonsey, influenced by Afrobeat, Afropop, highlife, reggae, and other energetic world music. The band draws its name from Fela Kuti’s landmark album Zombie; its musical inspirations include Fela, King Sunny Ade, James Brown, and Sun Ra, creating a new sound that takes international dance music in adventurous directions. Fronted by four saxes and propelled by a dynamic rhythm section, the group features musicians who can be heard regularly performing some of the Bay Area’s most creative new music.
Cory Wright – tenor sax
Aaron Bennett – tenor sax
Michael Zelner – alto sax
Dan Plonsey – baritone sax, compositions
John Shiurba – guitar
Karl Evangelista – guitar
Lynn Murdock – keyboard
Steve Lew – bass
Suki O’Kane – percussion
Michaelle Goerlitz – percussion
Jason Levis – drums

Bruce Ackley: sax
gabby fluke-mogul: violin
Lisa Mezzacappa: bass

Cost: $5-15 sliding scale
✚gCal  ✚iCal
Audio samples in which musicians at this event play:
Videos featuring musicians playing at this event
Bruce Ackley and Eugene Chadbourne
avantNOIR, a suite of compositions for jazz quartet plus guests, is a musical companion to the crime novels of Dashiell Hammett and Paul Auster. All music by Lisa Mezzacappa.
Fred Frith, Guitar; Jordan Glenn, Drums; Jason Hoopes, bass